Iranian Film – The Boarding House Bags Best Film Award At Shimla Festival 2022

Shimla: International entry ‘The Boarding House’ was adjudged as the best film by the jury at the conclusion of the 8th edition of the 3 day International Film Festival here today.

Former Director General of Film Divisions V. S. Kundu presided over the closing ceremony at the historic Gaiety Theatre.

The best films screened during the three days International Film Festival were awarded under various categories of International, National, and State level. During the three days of the International film festival, various documentaries, animation, feature film and short films from 17 different countries including Canada, America, Lebanon, Spain, Iran, Taiwan, Brazil, Iceland, Singapore, Mexico, Australia, Greece, Belgium, Denmark, Russia etc. were screened.

Under the competitive section, 27 International and 35 National Films under the category of documentaries, animation, feature film, short films and music videos were screened. Around 50 national and international film directors participated in the festival and shared their experience of Film Making with the audience during an open forum session.

Irani filmmaker Mariyam interacting during the interactive session at IFFS after screening of her film – The Boarding House

The Awards for various categories announced by the organisers are:


Best Feature Film

1. The Boarding House

Director: Maryam Ebrahimvand

Country: Iran

Special Jury Feature Film

1. Stoyan

Director: Roberto Ruiz Cé?spedes

Country: Spain

Best Short Film

1. Footsteps

Director: Hamed Bahrami

Country: Iran

Special Jury Short Film

1. Coffined At 15

Director: Gayatri Kumar

Country: United States of America

2. Polar Bears

Director: Shilpa Krishnan Shukla

Country: Singapore

Special Jury Documentary

1. Emergence: Out of the Shadows

Director- Vinay Giridhar

Country- Canada


Best Documentary

1. The First Ink- Memories that make History

Director: Shridhar K S

2. Ripples Under the Skin

Director: Farha Khatun

Special Jury Documentary

1. 15 Seconds A Lifetime

Director: Divya Hemant Kharnare

Best Short Film

1. Sheer Qorma

Director: Faraz Arif Ansari

Special Jury Short Film

1. Kakitham – Paper

Director: Vinoth Veeramani


Director: Shivang Khanna

3. Kumu

Director: Akanshya Bhagabati

Best Feature Film

1. Chabiwala – The Keysmith

Director: Raja Ghosh

Special Jury Feature Film


Director: Amit Sanouria

Best Music Video

1. Rise Up

Director; Ebenezer Annadoss & K Ebiraj


Best Film

1. Keel

Director: Aaryan Harnot

In all 26 Films were screened on the last day of the film festival.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.