Shiromani Akali Dal’s second list has Sukhbir Badal enter the fray from Jalalabad

Chandigarh: Ruling Shiromani Akali Dal’s poll readiness has taken opponents by surprise for after having released its first list of election candidates last week, today released its second list and announced that party president Sukhbir Badal would enter the fray from Jalalabad.

Former union minister Balwant Singh Ramoowalia has been made the party candidate from Mohali, and a former deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha Charanjit Singh Atwal is to contest from Payal, a SC reserved seat.

Others on the list of 15 candidates named today included Surinder Singh Bhullewal (Garhshankar), Ranjit Singh Talwandi (Khanna), Bikramjit Singh Khalsa (Raikot-SC), Bibi Rajwinder Kaur (Nihalsinghwala-SC), Gurtej Singh Ghudiana (Balluana-SC), Sant Balbir Singh Ghunas (Dirba-SC), Gobind Singh Kanjhla (Mehalkalan-SC), Gobind Singh Longowal (Dhuri), Pawan Kumar Tinu (Adampur-SC), Bibi Jagmeet Kaur Sandhu (Chamkour Sahib-SC), Pritam Singh Kotbhai (Bhuchomandi-SC) and Iqbal Singh Jhunda (Amargarh).

Today’s SAD list has 2 women candidates, 2 former MP’s, 3 former MLAs and 5 sitting MLA’s.

Last week the party had announced the candidature of 48 party nominees which included patron Prakash Singh Badal.

SAD is contesting the election in a pre-poll alliance with BJP and is said to be leaving 23 seats for its poll partner.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.