India plans 10 new nuclear projects by 2017

New Delhi : Ten new nuclear power projects are planned during the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) period, the Lok Sabha was informed Wednesday.

However, no new nuclear power projects will be launched in the remaining period of 11th Five Year Plan ending March 2012, Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office V. Narayansamy said during question hour.

Besides, seven nuclear power reactors with a capacity of 5,300 MW are under construction, he said.

The announcement comes even as government faces opposition from civil society and NGOs over the Kudankulam nuclear plant in Tamil Nadu.

India presently has 19 nuclear power plants, which generate 4,560 MW of electricty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.