Dhumal wins Himachal bye elections


Returning officer for Hamirpur seat, Ranjneesh Kumar awards certificate of victory to Prof. prem Kumar Dhumal of BJP in the bye election to Hamirpur lok sabha seat at Hamirpur on Tuesday.

Senior BJP leader and former Himachal Pradesh chief minister, Prem Kumar Dhumal was today elected as the Member parliament from Hamirpur for third term. He won by a margin of 80,059 votes.

Dhumal got 3, 82,128 votes as against 3, 02,069 secured by Ram Lal Thakur of the Congress. BJP got lead in fifteen out of seventeen assembly segments of the constituency. The Congress could get lead only in Kot kehloor and Santokhgarh of Bilaspur and Una districts respectively.

This seat had fallen vacant following unseating of Suresh Chandel of BJP in cash for query scam issue.
It was a hat trick of defeat for Thakur as he had already lost the Lok sabha elections in 1999 and 2004 also.

No other candidate could get ten thousand votes in the election. They all lost their security deposits.


BJP leader, prem Kumar Dhumal makes victory sign and poses for photograph along with other party leaders and workers after his victory in bye election to Hamirpur lok sbaha seat on Tuesday.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.