Dr. Lobsang Sangay Elected Tibetan PM For Second Time

Lobsang Sangay again elected as Tibetan Prime Minister
Dr Lobsang Sangay

Dharamshala: Beating Penpa Tsering by 9012 votes, Dr Lobsang Sangay was today declared Prime Minister elect of the Tibetan Government in Exile for the second term in a row.

Sonam Chhopel, the chief election commissioner of the Tibetan Government in Exile announced the results here a little while ago.

Dr Sangay polled a total of 33,876 votes and his opponent Tsering had a count of 24,864 votes.

A total of 90,377 voters had registered for the elections of which on 59,353 cast their franchise.



Sonam announced that besides the result for the Prime Minister’s election, results of all 45 members elected for the Tibetan Parliament also had been declared.

Penpa Tsering
Penpa Tsering

Tsering, a former speaker of the assembly, was the opposition candidate for the election that had voters spread over globally and the election was conducted in 5 phases.

Initially there were 5 candidates in the fray for the PM election, when the process started on 18th October, 2015 but three candidates were rejected in the first stage itself, said Sonam.

The last stage of the election was held on 20th March and the counting, conducted before a 8 member standing committee, was done between 20 to 22nd April at Dharamshala.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.