Himachal Congress sets up new party panel

Shimla: The Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee today constituted a new executive committee, blending old and new faces.

The new list comprises nine general secretaries, seven vice-presidents and 20 permanent invitees, including Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and union Commerce Minister Anand Sharma.Himachal Congress sets up new party panel

Official sources said the list cleared by the party’s national general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi has tried to maintain a balance between young and experienced leaders.

However, the party is yet to announce the name of secretaries.

Prominent leaders appointed as vice-presidents include former MP Chander Kumar, former cabinet minister Harsh Mahajan, and Gangu Ram Musafir, seven-time legislator.

The list of general secretaries includes former minister Ram Lal Thakur and former legislators Harshvardhan Chauhan and Harbhajan Bhajji.

The panel is adequately represented by leaders belonging to all sections of society including backward classes and minorities, a party leader said.

The young faces in the list include legislators Ajay Mahajan, Ravi Thakur, Rajesh Dharmani, Rohit Thakur, Rakesh Kalia and Mukesh Agnihotri.

The new executive committee would strive to meet the expectations of party president Sonia Gandhi, state Congress chief Sukhvinder Sukhu told.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.