RJD retains Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat

Patna, June 5 (IANS) Bihar’s ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) Wednesday suffered a huge jolt when RJD’s Prabhunath Singh won the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat in a by-election by a whopping 137,000 votes.

Prabhunath Singh defeated P.K. Shahi of JD-U, sparking off celebrations in both the constituency and in Patna.

It was the first defeat of the JD-U in a by-election after Nitish Kumar was elected the chief minister in November 2005.

Forty-seven percent of the electorate voted Sunday in the seat, which fell

vacant after the the death of RJD MP Umashankar Singh.

The JD-U was backed by the Bharatiya Janata Party while the Lalu

Prasad-led RJD had the support of the Lok Janshakti Party. The Congress

fielded Jitendra Swami, who lost his security deposit.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.