Polling begins in Himachal parliamentary bypoll

Shimla:┬áPolling for the second phase of Mandi parliamentary constituency began today in Himachal Pradesh’s rain-ravaged Kinnaur district.

Electors could be seen reaching polling stations even before voting started at 8 a.m. The vote cast will continue till 5 p.m.Polling begins in Himachal parliamentary bypoll

“There has been no report of any delay in starting the poll process,” state Chief Electoral Officer Narender Chauhan told.

He said 52,345 electors, including 25,285 women, would cast votes in 118 polling booths.

The election commission had postponed voting in the landslide-hit Kinnaur district as it was cut off from the rest of state owing to torrential rains June 16-18.

However, polling in the remaining 16 constituencies of the Mandi parliamentary seat was held June 23 and it recorded nearly 52 percent voter turnout.

The counting of votes will be held simultaneously June 30.

The bypoll was necessitated after Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh relinquished the seat following his election to the state assembly December 2012.

The Mandi constituency, which includes Kullu, Mandi and some areas of Chamba and Shimla districts, besides the tribal-dominated assembly constituencies of Kinnaur and Lahaul and Spiti, is one of the biggest in the country.


The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.