Rajsekhar Mansur, Ajay Pohankar, Sabir Khan get music awards

New Delhi, May 28 (IANS) Vocalists Rajsekhar Mansur and Ajay Pohankar and tabla player Sabir Khan were among those presented the Sangeet Natak Akademi’s Fellowship (Akademi Ratna) Awards 2012 here, a statement from Rashtrapati Bhavan said Tuesday.

President Pranab Mukherjee gave away the awards.

According to the statement, Priyadarshini Govind and Vijai Shankar were given awards for Bharatnatyam and Kathak, respectively, under the dance category.

Arjun Deo Charan and Tripurari Sharma were given the award for playwriting and direction, respectively, in the theatre category.

Awards were also given for traditional, folk and tribal dance, music and puppetry.

Nandini Ramani and Arun Kakade were honoured for overall contribution in performing arts.

Akademi fellowships were given to violinist N. Rajam, ghatam artist T.H. Vinayakram and theatre artist Ratan Thiyam.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.