National Hockey: Karnataka get past Jharkhand

Bangalore: Skipper Deepak Beijwad converted two penalty corners to pave the way for Karnataka’s 3-1 win over Jharkhand with the result taking the hosts to the top of the league table in the Indian Hockey Federation’s 64th senior National men’s hockey championship for the Rangaswamy Cup here today.

Bejiwad converted penalty corners in the 21st and 40th minute while NS Rajesh capped a solo run for the second Karnataka goal. The lone Jharkhand goal came late in the first-half when Deepak Soreng slammed home from the top of the circle.

The victory, their second in four matches, took Karnataka’s tally to eight points, while defending champions Mumbai are currently placed second on seven, also from four games, followed by Punjab who have six from three outings.

After being held to 1-1 in the first-half, Karnataka’s best moments came on resumption when they picked up the pace to make inroads into Jharkhand territory. Their domination was underscored by two goals that sealed the game in their favour.

Karnataka set up several more chances in the second half and could have scored at least half a dozen goals, but most of their forwards adopted selfish approach and let go easy chances. Md. Nayeemuddin, Boney Marshall and Kush muffed two scoring chances each.

Tuesday’s fixtures: Uttar Pradesh vs Jharkhand (12.30 pm); Manipur vs Mumbai (2.30 pm); Karnataka vs Punjab (4.30 pm).


The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.