Musharraf’s party wins one seat in parliament

Islamabad, May 12 (IANS) Former Pakistani president Pervez Musharraf’s party, the All Pakistan Muslim League (APML), managed to win one seat each – its first since it was formed – in the National Assembly and the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial assembly.

Despite the party announcing a boycott of the elections, APML candidate Shehzada Iftikhar-ud-Din won the NA-32 Chitral seat by around 20,000 votes, Dawn News reported.

APML candidate Ghulam Mohammad won the PK-90 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assembly seat.

The party had announced a boycott of the elections after the rejection of Musharraf’s nomination papers from all provinces and the imposition of a lifetime ban.

However, the party’s candidates from Chitral decided to stay in the fray.

The former military ruler is under house-arrest at his farm house, which was declared a sub-jail.

Musharraf returned to Pakistan in March after more than four years in self-exile to contest the elections.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.