Bengal proposes three-phase panchayat poll schedule

Kolkata, May 17 (IANS) The West Bengal government Friday issued a notification proposing three-phase Panchayat polls July 2, July 6 and July 10.

The schedule will be finalised once the State Election Commission issues a notification after studying the state government’s proposal.

The government notification proposed polls in nine southern Bengal districts – North 24 Paganas, South 24 Parganas, Howrah, Hooghly, East Midnapore, West Midnapore, Bankura, Purulia and Budwan in the first phase.

The northern Bengal district of Malda, and southern Bengal’s Murshidabad, Birbhum and Nadia will go to the hustings July 6.

In the final phase, the government proposed elections in the four northern districts of Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, North Dinajpur and South Dinajpur.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.