Knight Riders win toss, to bat first

Kolkata, April 24 (IANS) Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir won the toss and chose to bat first in their Indian Premier League match against Mumbai Indians at the Eden Gardens here Wednesday.

Mumbai Indians have dropped regular skipper Ricky Ponting and brought in Mitchell Johnson. Middle order bat Rohit Sharma is leading the side.

Kolkata Knight Riders brought in spinner Iqbal Abdulla in place of Laxmi Ratan Shukla.

The start of the match was delayed by 30 minutes due to a wet outfield.

The teams:

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Yusuf Pathan, Jacques Kallis, Eoin Morgan, Manoj Tiwary, Debabrata Das (wicketkeeper), Rajat Bhatia, Iqbal Abdulla, Sachithra Senanayake, Sunil Narine, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Mumbai Indians: Dwayne Smith, Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Mitchell Johnson, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yuzvendra Chahal, Lasith Malinga.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.