Copa Libertadores: Eight champions to play round of 16

Buenos Aires, April 20 (IANS) Eight teams qualified for the round of 16 of Copa Libertadores, a football tournament organised by the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol), and will play against one another beginning April 24.

Argentina’s Boca Juniors, winner of six Copa Libertadores (1977, 1978, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2007) will face Brazil’s Corinthians, reports Xinhua.

Other Argentine teams Newell and Velez Sarsfield will face each other and only one will qualify for the next round, while Tigre will play against Paraguay’s Olimpia.

Peru’s Real Garcilaso will face Uruguay’s Nacional, a strong team of the region.

The only match which will not be played between a Copa Libertadores’ champion will be between Brazil’s Fluminense and Ecuador’s Emelec.

Following is the match schedule:

April 24: Real Garcilaso (Peru) – Nacional (Uruguay).

April 25: Newell’s (Argentina) – Velez (Argentina).

April 25: Tijuana (Mexico) – Palmeiras (Brazil).

April 30: Tigre (Argentina) – Olimpia (Paraguay).

May 1st : Boca (Argentina) – Corinthians (Brazil).

May 1st : San Pablo (Brazil) – Atletico Mineiro (Brazil).

May 2: Emelec (Ecuador) – Fluminense (Brazil).

May 2: Gremio (Brazil) – Independiente Santa Fe (Colombia)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.