BJP unanimously elects Dhumal as party leader in Vidhan Sabha

Shimla: Having ceded power to Congress in the recently held general assembly election, the newly elected BJP legislator, unanimously elected former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal as the house leader of the party today. 

Party spokesman Ganesh Dutt stated that the legislator party met earlier in the day, in the presence of central observer TC Gehlot, to elect the party leader in the Vidhan Sabha.

Dhumal’s name was proposed by state party president Satpal Satti, former president Suresh Bhardwaj and former deputy speaker Rikhi Ram Kaundal that was endorsed by all the party legislators, said the party spokesman.

From a strength of 43 legislators in the outgoing house, BJP was reduced to 26 members in a house of 68 lawmakers in the elections, the results for which was declared on December 20. Polling in the elections was held on November 4.

As Editor, Ravinder Makhaik leads a team of media professionals at Hill Post. Spanning a career of over two decades in mass communication, as a Documentary Filmmaker, TV journalist, Print Media journalist and with Online & Social Media, he brings with him a vast experience. He lives in Shimla.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.