SFI wins all seats in Himachal University Polls

Shimla: The Students Federation of India (SFI) Thursday again swept the students central association polls in the Himachal Pradesh University here, winning all the seats with a huge margin.

The voting, which was held peacefully, saw a 65 percent turnout.

SFI’s Rahul Chauhan was elected the president, defeating Dinesh Kumar of the ABVP by a margin of 713 votes.

For the post of vice-president, Priyanka Chauhan of the SFI was declared winner, defeating Parul Shukla of the ABVP by 570 votes.

Vikram Kaith (SFI) defeated Tarun Thakur (AVBP) by 697 votes for the general secretary post, while Amit Kumar (SFI) defeated Naresh Kumar Dasta (ABVP) by 751 votes for the joint secretary post.

The SFI is the student wing of the Communist Party of India-Marxist, while the ABVP is affiliated to the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS).

The Congress’s student wing National Students Union of India (NSUI) candidates — Avtar Singh Hans, Ritu Raj Thakur, Sangeeta and Brij Mohan — ended third in the triangular contest.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.