Bahuguna distributes portfolios, retains 24 departments

Dehradun: Nearly two weeks after being sworn-in and two days after winning a vote of confidence, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna Sunday allocated portfolios to his ministers.

While the chief minister has retained 24 key departments including home, corruption eradication, personnel, information, law, forest, wildlife, environment, medical and higher education, Indira Hridyesh has been given finance, stamps, and parliamentary affairs.

Yashpal Arya, a confidante of the chief minister, has been given revenue, disaster management, flood control, irrigation and co-operatives.

Surendra Negi has got health, family planning, science and technology, army welfare and sugar, while Preetam Singh Panwar will hold charge of food and civil supplies, micro-irrigation, rural development and panchayati raj.

Amrita Rawat has got tourism, culture, women empowerment while Dinesh Agarwal has been given planning, information technology, sports and youth welfare.

Mantri Prasad Naithani has been allotted agriculture, and adult education amongst others.

The Congress government in the hill state, sworn in March 20, has been walking on ice-thin majority since Bahuguna was named the chief minister by the party, leading to protests by Congress leader and central minister Harish Rawat.

His supporters led by Harak Singh Rawat initially refused to be sworn in as legislators. They fell in line only a few days back.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.