11 in fray for Himachal bye-elections

MH 2Shimla: As many five election nominations were filed for Rohru and Jawali seats that head for a bye-poll on 7th November, today as chief electoral officer, Anil Kumar Khachi announced closure of nominations.

Khachi declared, “in all 7 candidates for Rohru and 4 for Jawali seats have filed their nomination papers.”

MH 3“Nominations stands closed. Scrutiny would be done in presence of the candidates on 22nd October,” he said. Among those who filed their papers today was Khushi Ram Balnahta, the BJP candidate for Rohru.

Other who entered their papers today were, Shurveer Singh of village Samoli as a Rashtrawadi Sena candidate for Rohru, Veena Shukla of village Khashkandi – Rohru, Kewal Ram Negi of village Jaunli – Rohru and Mathu Ram Bushehari of village Gangtoli – Rohru all as independent candidates.

MH 1The congress candidate from here is newcomer Manjeet Singh Thakur. No one entered the fray for the Jawali seat today. Of the four nominations filed for this seat are Sujjan Singh Pathania for congress, Baldev Raj Chaoudhary for BJP; Madan Lal Sharma and Ashok Kumar Somal as independent candidates.

The total eligible voter strength in Rohru is 70,416 and in Jawali it is 75,541, informed Khachi.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.