Lok Sabha polls’ dates announced: Himachal CEO

Shimla: Chief Electoral Officer, Anil Khachi, informed here today that the Election Commission of India has announced the election schedule for General Elections to Lok Sabha, 2009.

India will pick a new government over five phases from April 16 to May 13, the votes will be counted on May 16 and 15th Lok Sabha will be constituted by June 2, announced the Election Commission of India. 124 Lok Sabha constituencies would go to the polls on April 16, followed by 141 on April 23, 107 on April 30, 85 on May 7 and 86 constituencies on the final day on May 13.

Kachi said that provisions of model code of conduct would come into force with immediate effect with the announcement till the completion of election process.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.