Congress Declares Virbhadra, Chander Kumar, Shandil As Party Candidates For Himahcal

Shimla: Congress parliamentary selection committee late on Saturday declared its candidates for three of the four seats in Himachal that head for elections in mid May.

On expected lines Chander Kumar was re-nominated for Kangra seat, Dhani Ram Shandil for the Shimla reserved seat and former chief minister Virbhadra Singh has been made the party candidate in place of his wife Pratibha Singh for the Mandi seat.

Stalemate over selection of a candidate for the all important Hamirpur seat remains as the selection committee was unable to decide whether to pitch Narinder Thakur, who left BJP a few months ago to join congress or field someone else who could put up a contest against Anurag Thakur, the sitting BJP parliamentarian from the seat.

Candidates have already fanned out into their respective constituencies and are making a one to one contact as part of first electioneering round as polling in Himachal is scheduled for the last phase with vote casting marked for May 13.

BJP by declaring its candidates early, has an head start but campaigning is still to pick up pace.

Other than Anurag for Hamirpur, the party has announced Virinder Kashyap for Shimla reserved seat, senior leader Maheshwar Singh for Mandi and a former state minister Rajan Sushant for Kangra seat.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.