20 Red Alert Constituencies might get Criminal Leaders again

As per a report by National Election Watch (NEW) of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), a nationwide campaign comprising of more than 1200 NGO and other citizen led organizations working on electoral reforms, improving democracy and governance in India has come out with the list of 20 constituencies worst affected by criminalization in India as represented in the outgoing parliament.

The list showcases the Ministers of Parliament from various states across the country and major political parties. The maximum number of constituencies in the list are from the state of Bihar (5) followed by Uttar Pradesh (4). There are 3 MPs from West Bengal, 2 from MP and 1 each from Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Kerala. Amongst the parties the INC, BJP and the RJD each has 3 such MPs. SP, CPM, BSP and LJNSP each has 2 and JD(S), CPI, and DMK has 1 such candidate.

The list contains only those constituencies where the elected MPs have criminal charges of serious nature like murder, attempt to murder, extortion, rape, kidnapping, robbery, dacoity, etc. There are candidates with up to 37 criminal cases, upto 10 attempt to murder cases and lot more.

But to please Himachalis there is no MP of Himachal Pradesh in this list.

More details.

Tags from the story
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.