IIT Mandi Bags Prestigious Prof Satish Dhawan Award For Young Engineers

Mandi: Indian Institute of Technology Mandi faculty Dr. Mrityunjay Doddamani has been awarded Prof. Satish Dhawan State Award for Young Engineers at J N Tata Auditorium, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. The award was given by Karnataka State Council of Science and Technology (KSCST), Department of Electronics, Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science & Technology, Government of Karnataka.

Shri Basavaraj S. Bommai, Hon’ble Chief Minister, Government of Karnataka presented the State Awards to the eminent Scientists and Engineers in presence of Bharat Ratna Prof. C N R Rao, FRS, Linus Pauling Research Professor, Honorary President, JNCASR and Dr. C. N. Ashwath Narayan, Hon’ble Minister for Higher Education, Information Technology, Biotechnology & Science and Technology, Electronics, Skill Development, Entrepreneurship and Livelihood, Government of Karnataka, and other dignitaries.

Prof. Satish Dhawan award carries a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000 (Rupees One Lakh), a memento and citation. This annual award is given to Engineers, below 50 years of age, who have made outstanding contributions in the field of Engineering Sciences. Prof. Satish Dhawan State Award for Young Engineers is a prestigious recognition for young scientists who have made significant contributions in the Engineering domain.

This annual award in Karnataka state has been given to Dr. Mrityunjay Doddamani in the ‘Engineering Sciences’ category in recognition of outstanding contributions made by him. This award carries a State Medal Certificate with a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000.

Talking about the award, Dr. Mrityunjay Doddamani, Associate Professor, School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering said, “I feel humbled and grateful to receive the award in the presence of Bharath Ratna Prof. C N R Rao and this award is a great recognition of our contribution in Engineering sciences.”

Further, Dr. Doddamani, added, “We are happy to be able to share our research findings in the manufacturing domain in a small way and I thank all my students, esteemed mentors, collaborators and colleagues, and all funding agencies who have generously supported us in exploring our research activities.”

Dr. Doddamani is presently working in the additive manufacturing of advanced composites and cyber security in manufacturing domain in addition to developing lightweight composite materials/syntactic foams for various applications. His group is particularly working on additive manufacturing of lightweight sandwiches for marine, automobile and aerospace regimes. With the support from DST, he is also engaged in 3D printing of solar cells in collaboration with his colleague Dr. Satvasheel Powar.

KSCST invited nominations for the State Awards for the year 2020 and 2021 during April 2022 and received a total of 330 nominations for these awards in various categories. The Selection Committee under the Chairmanship of Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar, Former Chairman ISRO, recommended 28 Scientists and Engineers for the State Awards for the years 2020 and 2021.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.