Architect BP Malhotra Conferred Life Time Achievement Award

Shimla: The Indian Concrete Institute in association with Ultratech Cement Limited organized ICI Structure Awards for the Year– 2022 here today. The awards were presented by R. D. Dhiman, Chief Information Commissioner, and former Chief Secretary, Govt of HP as Chief Guest.

Speaking on the occasion Dhiman stressed upon the need for employing utmost safety mechanisms in Design of Buildings considering the recent massive earthquake in the  Turkey — Syria region where massive destruction took place and about Fifty thousand,  human lives were lost. The awards function is organized every year to honor various engineers and architects for their outstanding contribution in the field of structural engineering.

Award winners at the ICI Structure Awards Function

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD in Architecture & Engineering Category TROPHY was presented to Architect B P Malhotra, former Chief Architect, HPPWD who had designed famous buildings like Armsdale Building of HP SECRETARIAT; Peterhoff, the state guest house; Himachal Bhawan at  Chandigarh and Himachal Sadan at Delhi and many other important buildings.

Another LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD TROPHY was also conferred on Late Er. S C Kapoor, Former and First Engineer-in Chief, HPPWD.  The award was received by his sons Architect Tapinder Kapoor and Dr. Mahesh Kapoor.

Er. Harish Malhotra, Chief Engineer (Projects), HPSEB  was conferred with the CONCRETE TECHNOLOGIST AWARD for the Year 2022. He had  worked on the design and execution of many hydro electric projects namely Bhaba, Ghanvi, Larji, Andhra etc.

Er. Suresh Walia, Executive Engineer HPPWD was  Conferred with YOUNG CONCRETE TECHNOLOGIST AWARD.


EMERGING ARCHITECT AWARD was  presented to Ar. Vijay Thakur, Assistant Architect, HPPWD, MANDI EMERGING ENGINEER AWARD was  presented to Er. Sahil Rana, Executive Engineer, HPPWD,  District Shimla.

Besides this Ashiyana Awards were presented to  28 Architects, Engineers,  Contractors including house owners from all Districts of HIMACHAL PRADESH.

In the Best Commercial Building category, Hotel Valley, Mandi, by Er. Tej Ram Rana; Hotel Radisson, Kufri, by Architect, Ar. Sushil Sharma Associates and Hotel Roscommon, Solan, by Architect, Ar. Rakesh Mehta.

In the category of Best Built Multi Storey Housing, HillCrest Apartments at Solan, by Architect Jahnoo Arora was also presented the ICI awards for 2022.

Ar. V P S JASWAL, Chairman, ICI Shimla Centre, stressed upon the need for Green Buildings and Zero  Consumption  buildings  so that we contribute to the sustainable Global environment .

Er. Abhay Tomar, Regional Technical Head, Ultratech Cement, thanked the participants and confirmed participation Certificates to all the participants.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.