Akash, Rajbir, Karan & Divija Win Road To Himalaya Mountain Biking Race

Shimla: Out of the 48 participants for the Shimla Chapter of Road To Himalaya mountain biking race held today, Akash Sherpa in the men’s elite section, Rajbir Singh in the boys under 19 section, Karan Kumar in the under 16 section and Divija Sood in the women’s section were declared winners.

The event saw some intense action by a very talented and exciting bunch of cyclists around the trails and dirt roads of Mashobra.

Winners of the Road to Himalaya Mountain Biking Race

Top three riders of the race will get a free entry to the prestigious 9th MTB, Shimla that is scheduled to be held between 8th to 10th October, said Mohit Sood, president of HASTPA, the orgranisation that has promoted and has been hosting the prestigious mountain biking event for many years.

It was so exciting to see the very talented young bunch of riders from Shimla, which has firmly established itself as the Mountain Biking Capital of the country.

The route of 38 Kms started from Mashobra and passed through Seepur, Ghodna, Daak Bangla, Bekhulti and ended at Camp Daak Bangla. Of the 48 participants who were flagged off, as many as 38 managed to finish the race.

As health administrators, government and the people battle to contain COVID-19, adventure sporting activities like river rafting and mountain biking are slowly making a comeback in the state. Recently the government also announced the opening up of river rafting for tourists in the state.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.