Parliamentarian Anurag Thakur Conferred Sansad Ratna Award

Chief Whip of Lok Sabha and Member of Parliament Hamirpur Anurag Thakur was bestowed with the prestigious Sansad Ratna Award for distinguished performance as a Parliamentarian.

He becomes the first Member of Parliament from BJP along with being the only Member of Parliament from North India to be awarded by a special jury committee.

The Sansad Ratna Awards was set up in 2010 upon the suggestion of Former President Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, who himself launched the first edition of Awards in May 2010, with the purpose of celebrating the performers of Indian Parliamentarians.

The award ceremony held in Chennai today witnessed awards being given to 12 top performing Parliamentarians, including a Standing Committee.

Tamil Nadu Governor Sh. Banwarilal Purohit presented the award to Sh. Anurag Thakur.

Speaking on the occasion, after receiving the award, the three time MP Anurag Thakur said, “I am extremely delighted to receive this award as it is being given for distinguished performance under Jury Committee Special Award. Being a public representative, I have always attempted to raise my voice in the Parliament for pertinent issues relating to the State of Himachal Pradesh and National interest, at large. I would like to dedicate this award to the people of Himachal Pradesh for their continued support and faith in me.”

Arvind Sharma is an award winning bi-lingual journalist with more than 12 years of experience behind him. He has worked with Divya Himachal, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhasker, Vir Partap, Ajit and PTI new agency. In 2010, he was conferred the Himachal Kesri journalism awar. He has intensively covered the Tibetan Government in Exile and regularly reports on varied issues which include sports, tourism and others. Arvind Sharma lives in Dharamshala in Himachal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.