16 Teams For Shimla 2016 Monsoon Football Cup


Shimla: Sixteen football teams from the district are to compete for the 2016 Monsoon Cup that started today at the Bishop Cotton  School grounds.

Being conducted by Shimla District Football Association (SDFA), the teams participating are Bishop Cotton School, St. Edwards School, Shimla All Stars, Junga Sports Association, Highlanders, Summer Hill United Football Club (Team A & Team B), Barca United (Rohru), Black Pearls (Rampur), Hainault Public School, Magicians FC, AG Office, A Stars (APG University), APG SAARC (APG University), Central School for Tibetans and Boileauganj Football Club.

Shimla Monsoon Football Cup
Shimla Monsoon Football Cup

Spread over three days, over 60 matches would be played with the final scheduled for 5th August.

Speaking on the occasion, Prithvi Vikram Sen, President, SDFA said “football is a very lively sport and Shimla has a long association with the game. After all, the Durand Cup, India’s premier football cup was started in 1888 from Shimla. We are continuing our efforts to create opportunities for players to showcase their sporting talent.”

The Shimla Monsoon Cup was started in 2015.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.