Four new High Court Judges sworn in Himachal

Four new HC judgeS for HP!

It’s a full house at Himachal Pradesh High Court as four new judges have joined the bench after having taken the oath of office administered by Chief Justice Mansoor Ahmad Mir on Tuesday.


Of the four new judges appointed, Justice Vivek Singh Thakur, Justice Ajay Mohan Goel and Justice Sandeep Sharma are from the Bar and Justice Chander Bhushan was elevated from the state judicial services to the High Court. Justice Thakur and Justice Goel were appointed as judges and Justice Sharma and Justice Bhushan as additional judges.

With the new appointments, strength of judges as the state High Court has gone up eleven

Screen Shot of HP High Court Website on 14.4.2016 (Picture profile of the new judges were yet to be displayed)
Screenshot of HP High Court Website (Picture profiles of the new judges, two days after they were sworn in, were yet to be displayed)

Justice Vivek Singh Thakur joined the Bar Council in 1990, Justice  Ajay Mohan Goel enrolled in October 1992 and Justice Sandeep Sharma in 1993.

Before Justice Chander Bhusan was appointed as additional district and session judge in January 2003, he was a practising advocate at the High Court from November 1984.

Despite the appointment of new judges, the Himachal Pradesh High Court has no lady judge on its bench.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.