14 coal blocks allocated to government units

New Delhi, July 3 (IANS) The government has allocated 14 coal blocks to state-run companies to cater for power generation capacity of 31,800 MW, a coal ministry statement said here Wednesday.

An investment of Rs.1,60,000 crore has been envisaged for the purpose.

The 14 blocks have geological reserves of 8,311 million tonnes, capable of yielding about 159 MT coal production per annum

Around 15 states and 6 central public sector undertakings, including NTPC and Neyveli Lignite Corp, have been allocated the coal blocks.

The allotments have been made for the first time since 2008 when the government planned to allocate coal blocks through auction.

The coal ministry had invited applications for the blocks on Dec 31, 2012.

Some of the coal blocks because of their size have been given to more than one state-run company. The Deocha-Pachami block in West Bengal having a reserve of 2102 MT has been given to six different state power companies, while the Mahajanvadi block in Maharashtra with reserves of 340 MT has gone to units from Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.