Timeline of Maoist attacks on trains in India

April 22, 2009: Maoists hijack a train with at least 300 people on board in Jharkhand and force it to run to Latehar district before fleeing.

Oct 27, 2009: Maoists detain the Bhubaneswar-New Delhi Rajdhani Express for eight hours during a bandh called by the People’s Committee Against Police Atrocities in West Bengal.

Nov, 2009: Maoists blow up railway tracks in Simdega district in Jharkhand derailing a passenger train, killing two people and injuring 38 people.

May 19, 2010: Maoists trigger landmine blast on railway tracks near Jhargram in West Bengal’s West Midnapore district injuring two drivers of a goods train and leaving the engine damaged.

May 20, 2010: Fourteen oil tankers of a goods train derail and catch fire after the Maoists blow up railway lines between Dighwara and Pipra stations in Bihar under Muzaffarpur-Narkatiyaganj section of the East Central Railway.

May 22, 2010: Two people, including a policeman, travelling in the Tatanagar-bound Steel Express, injured in the crossfire between the Maoists and joint forces in West Midnapore district.

May 28, 2010: Maoists derail the Jnaneswari Express in the West Midnapore district of West Bengal, causing its collision with another train, resulting in the death of at least 141 passengers.

June 13, 2013: Maoists attack a passenger train in Bihar’s Jamui district Thursday afternoon, killing a railway police personnel and two passengers.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.