Russia launches European telecom satellite

Moscow, June 3 (IANS/RIA Novosti) A Russian launch vehicle carrying an SES-6 telecommunications satellite Monday lifted off from Kazakhstan’s Baikonur space centre.

“The launch took place at the scheduled time – 01.18 p.m. Moscow time (09.18 GMT),” a Khrunichev space company spokesperson said Monday.

“The separation of the SES-6 satellite from the Briz-M booster is expected in 15.5 hours, at 04.49 Moscow time (00.49 GMT) Tuesday,” he said.

Built by Astrium for global satellite operator SES World Skies on Eurostar 3000 platform, the SES-6 is equipped with 43 C-band and 48 Ku-band transponders and has a service life of 15 years.

The satellite will enable the delivery of next generation broadcast services, including HD video distribution and mobile services, to customers in North America, Latin America, Europe and the Atlantic region, the SES said on its website.

SES-6 will be the 53rd satellite in SES’ global fleet.

–IANS/RIA Novosti

sd/vt

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.