Ramdin pleads not guilty to misconduct charge

London, June 9 (IANS/CMC) West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to a charge of misconduct laid by the International Cricket Council (ICC), following his claim for a catch during the Caribbean side’s two-wicket win over Pakistan.

Ramdin, the team vice-captain, claimed a low catch off Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq before he had scored, off fast bowler Kemar Roach in the ninth over of the innings Friday, reports CMC.

The decision was referred to the third umpire and replays showed that while Ramdin had initially taken the catch, he did not have full control of the ball before it eventually popped out.

“Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to ‘conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game’,” an ICC release said Saturday.

Ramdin will now go before a hearing here Monday.

If found guilty, he could face a fine of between half or all his match fee, or suspension from up to two One-Day Internationals.

Misbah went on to finish unbeaten on 96 as Pakistan finished on 170 all out off 48 overs, in their opening Champions Trophy match at the Oval.



The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.