Punjab retain junior national hockey title

Sonepat, June 13 (IANS) Defending champions Punjab overcame Odisha 2-1 to lift the third Hockey India (HI) Junior Men’s National Championship title at the Motilal Nehru Sports Complex, Rai Thursday.

Punjab scored their opening goal through their skipper Gaganpreet Singh who converted the penalty corner in the 10th minute while Odisha levelled (24th) with the field goal scored by Joseph Toppo.

In the second half, both teams fought hard but finally Gaganpreet managed to convert a penalty stroke in the 63rd minute.

Madhya Pradesh defeated Maharashtra to finish third in the championship.

Madhya Pradesh scored through Mohd. Nizamuddin (19th, 28th), Arjun Sharma (26th, 69th) and Arman Qureshi (42nd) while Ashutosh Lingesh (9th), Own Goal (30th) and Mithlesh Kumar (60th, 63rd) were on target for Maharashtra.


Final: Punjab 2 (Gaganpreet Singh 10, 63) beat Odisha 1 (Joseph Toppo 24)

3rd/4th Position: Madhya Pradesh 5 (Mohd. Nizamuddin 19, 28, Arjun Sharma 26, 69, Arman Qureshi 42) beat Maharashtra 4 (Ashutosh Lingesh 9, Own Goal 30, Mithlesh Kumar 60, 63).

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.