Nitish Kumar wins trust vote

Patna, June 19 (IANS) Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar Wednesday won the trust vote in the assembly, proving his majority after dumping long-time ally the BJP.

A total of 126 legislators voted for the motion moved by the chief minister while 24 voted against. The house has 243 members.

Bharatiya Janata Party legislators walked out before the special session began.

The ruling Janata Dal-United has 118 legislators and needed the support of four more to prove its majority.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.