India selectors retain Champions Trophy squad for Windies tour

Mumbai, June 17 (IANS) India’s cricket selectors Monday have retained the 15-member Champions Trophy squad for the tri-series in the West Indies starting June 28.

India are in the semi-finals of the Champions Trophy after having won all their group matches against South Africa, the West Indies and Pakistan.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be leading the side that will have five seam bowlers in Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Irfan Pathan and Vinay Kumar. Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Amit Mishra will be the spin trio.

The tri-series in the West Indies also involves Sri Lanka. The tournament, which is sponsored by Indian company Celkon, will be played in two venues, Sabina Park at Kingston in Jamaica and Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

India start their campaign against the West Indies June 30 at the Sabina Park and face Sri Lanka July 2 at the same venue. India will again play the West Indies, July 4, in Port of Spain followed by Sri Lanka, June 9, also at the same ground. The final is slated for July 11 at the Queen’s Park Oval.

Seniors like Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag and Harbhajan Singh, who were ignored for the Champions Trophy, remain out of favour.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.