Eight inducted in union cabinet

New Delhi, June 17 (IANS) Eight minister, mostly Congress party veterans, were inducted into Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s ministerial council Monday in possibly the last rejig before the 2014 general elections.

Four cabinet ministers and four ministers of state were administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee in the Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Those inducted as cabinet ministers are: Sis Ram Ola, Oscar Fernandes, Girija Vyas and K.S. Rao.

The ministers of state are: Manik Rao Gavit, Santosh Chowdhary, E.M.S. Natchiappan and J.D. Sellam.

The portfolios of the ministers will be announced shortly.

Ola and Fernandes were ministers in the United Progressive Alliance-I.

This is the fourth major reshuffle in UPA-II.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.