Andhra speaker disqualifies 15 lawmakers

Hyderabad, June 8 (IANS) Andhra Pradesh assembly speaker Saturday disqualified 15 members of legislative assembly belonging to the ruling Congress and the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) for violating party whips.

Speaker N. Manohar, who heard the petitions moved by the two parties during the last few weeks, announced his decision Saturday evening. Nine of those disqualified belong to the Congress while six others are members of the TDP.

The two parties had sought their members disqualification for violating party whips during the voting on no-confidence motion moved by the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) against the government in the assembly in March.

The legislators, who have switched loyalties to YSR Congress party, supported the no-trust motion.

The TDP had issued a whip to all its legislators to remain neutral during the voting.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.