Top winners in Karnataka assembly polls

Bangalore, May 8 (IANS) The 14th Karnataka legislative assembly election witnessed a majority of leaders winning, barring one or two, though the beleaguered BJP lost heavily with about 20 of its ministers facing humiliating defeat Wednesday.

Among the winners from the Congress, which bagged 121 of the 223 constituencies where polling was held Sunday, are Siddaramaiah, a chief ministerial aspirant, from Varuna in Mysore district.

The other Congress winners are:

R.V. Deshpande from Haliyal in Uttara Kannada district.

H.K. Patil from Gadag in north Karnataka.

D.K. Shivkumar from Kanakapura in Ramanagaram district, south Karnataka.

Roshan Baig from Shivajinagar in central Bangalore.

Dinesh Gundu Rao from Gandhinagar in central Bangalore.

Krishna Byre Gowda from Bayatarayanpatna in north Bangalore.

Kannada actress Umashree from Terdal in Bagalkote district.

Priyank Kharge from Chitapur in Gulbarga district, north Karnataka.

Ajay Singh from Jewargi in Gulbarga district, north Karnataka.

Anil Lad, mining baron from Bellary city in north Karnataka.

Santosh S. Lad, mining baron from Kalaghatigi in Dharwad district, north Karnataka.

M.H. Ambaresh, actor and former MP from Mandya in south Karnataka.From the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which bagged 40 seats across the state, the winner are:

Jagadish Shettar, outgoing chief minister, from Hubli-Dharwad Central in north Karnataka.

Ashoka R, outgoing deputy chief minister, from Padmanabha Nagar in South Bangalore.

Suresh Kumar, outgoing law & parliamentary minister, from Rajaji Nagar in northeast Bangalore.

Govind M. Karjol, outgoing minor irrigation minister, from Mudhol in Bagalkot district, north Karnataka.

Basavaraj Bommai, outgoing water resources minister, from Shiggaon in Haveri district, central Karnataka.

Balachandra Jharkoli, outgoing municipal administration minister, from Arabhavi in Belgaum district, north Karnataka.

Arvind Limbavalli, outgoing health minister, from Mahadevapura in northeast Bangalore.

K.G. Bopaiah, speaker of the 13th state assembly, from Virajpet in Kodagu district in south Karnataka.

C.T. Ravi, outgoing higher education minister from Chikamaglur in central Karnataka.

Anand Singh outgoing tourism minister, from Vijayanagara in Bellary district.

From the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), which also bagged 40 seats across the state:

H.D. Kumaraswamy, former chief minister and Lok Sabha member, from Ramanagaram in south Karnataka.

H.D. Revanna, former PWD minister, from Holenarsipur in Hassan district in south Karnataka.

N. Chaluvarayaswamy, former minister and Lok Sabha member, from Nagamangala in Mandya district, south Karnataka.

B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan, former minister, from Chamrajpet in southwest Bangalore.

S. Madhu Bangarappa from Sorab in Shimoga district in central Karnataka.Y.S.V. Dutta from Kadur in Tumkur district, south Karnataka.

G.T. Deve Gowda from Chamundeshwari in Mysore district, south Karnataka.

Iqbal Ansari from Gangavati in Koppal district, north Karnataka.

From Karnataka Janata Party (KJP), which bagged six seats across the state:

B.S. Yeddyurappa, former chief minister, from Shikaripura in Shimoga district, central Karnataka.

Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli from Bidar in north Karnataka.

From BSR (Bhadavara, Shramikara Raithara), a regional outfit floated recently, which bagged four seats:

B.Sreeramulu, former minister, from Bellary (rural) reserved constituency in north Karnataka

From Samajwadi Party (SP), C.P. Yogeshwara, former minister, from Channapatna in Ramanagaram district in south Karnataka./eom/495 words.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.