Party positions in states, union territories (Listing)

New Delhi: With the Congress looking set to take charge of Karnataka, the number states and union territories under its rule will rise to 14, even as the BJP tally will drop by one to four.

Here’s the list of 28 states and two union territories along with the ruling party and chief minister. In states like in Maharashtra, Kerala, Jammu and Kashmir and Bihar, the governments have coalition support.

States/union territories ruled by Congress:

01. Andhra Pradesh (N. Kiran Kumar Reddy)

02. Arunachal Pradesh (Nabam Tuki)

03. Assam (Tarun Gogoi)

04. Delhi (Sheila Dikshit)

05. Haryana (Bhupinder Singh Hooda)

06. Himachal Pradesh (Virbhadra Singh)

07. Kerala (Oommen Chandy)

08. Maharashtra (Prithviraj Chavan)

09. Manipur (Okram Ibobi Singh)

10. Meghalaya (Mukul Sangma)

11. Mizoram (Pu Lalthanhawla)

12. Rajasthan (Ashok Gehlot)

13. Uttarakhand (Vijay Bahuguna)

14. Karnataka (Congress rule likely)

States ruled by Bharatiya Janata Party:

01. Chhattisgarh (Raman Singh)

02. Goa (Manohar Parrikar)

03. Gujarat (Narendra Modi)

04. Madhya Pradesh (Shivraj Singh Chauhan)

State ruled by Communist Party of India-Marxist:

01. Tripura (Manik Sarkar)

States/union territory ruled by regional parties:

01. Bihar (Nitish Kumar) Janata Dal-United (with BJP)

02. Jammu and Kashmir (Omar Abdullah) National Conference (with Congrss)

03. Punjab (Parkash Singh Badal) Shiromani Akali Dal (with BJP)

04. Nagaland (Neiphiu Rio) Naga People’s Front

05. Sikkim (Pawan Kumar Chamling) Sikkim Democratic Front

06. Tamil Nadu (Jayalalithaa) AIADMK

07. Uttar Pradesh (Akhilesh Yadav) Samajwadi Party

08. Odisha (Naveen Patnaik) Biju Janata Dal

09. West Bengal (Mamata Banerjee) Trinamool Congress

10. Puducherry (N. Rangaswamy) All India N.R. Congress

State under President’s rule:

01. Jharkhand (Governor: Syed Ahmed)

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.