Norway welcomes India in Arctic Council

Oslo, May 15 (IANS) Norway welcomed India and five other countries after they secured permanent observer status in the inter-governmental forum Arctic Council Wednesday.

In a Twitter posting, Norwegian Foreign Minister Espen Barth Eide extended his welcome to Japan, South Korea, China, India, Singapore and Italy as observers, Xinhua reported.

Eide described as “a major breakthrough” the decision taken by the eight-member Arctic Council to have six new observers.

The council comprises Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Canada, Russia and the US — the countries that ring the Arctic Circle.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.