Motorsports: Rookie Nayan dominates

Hyderabad, May 6 (IANS) Team Rayo Racing’s Nayan Chatterjee from Mumbai provided a sensational start to the 2013 karting season as he topped in the senior category and was placed second among juniors in the JK Tyre MMS Rotax Kart Open championship here.

In an unprecedented move, Chatterjee participated in both junior and senior categories at the same time Sunday. Being 15 years of age allowed him to meet the entry criteria in both categories though it meant having to race 295 grueling laps in two days and in 42 degree heat.

In the junior category, it was Krishna Mahadik from Mohite’s Racing who dominated in most races. However, Chatterjee was always on his tail, giving him a run for his money. Chatterjee finished second behind Mahadik and ahead of Tejas Ram of Meco Racing.

Overall results:

JK Tyre Open Cup – Seniors: 1.Nayan Chatterjee, 97 Points (Rayo Racing); 2. Ameya Bafna, 87 points (Rayo Racing); 3. Dhruv Mohite, 77 points (Mohite Racing).

Juniors: 1.Krishna Mahadik, 89 points (Mohite Racing); 2. Nayan Chatterjee, 77 points (Rayo Racing); 3. Tejas Ram, 73 points (Meco Racing).

Micro: 1. Yash Aradhya, 94 points (Meco Racing); 2. Pradyuman Danigond, 91 points (Mohite Racing); 3. Paul Francis, 82 points (Meco Racing).

JK Tyre Rookie Cup: Tejas Ram (Meco Racing) 1; Mahaveer Raghunathan (Meco Racing) 2; Aaroh Ravindra (Rayo Racing) 3.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.