LF, Congress name candidates for Howrah by-poll

Kolkata, May 7 (IANS) The Left Front Tuesday nominated Srideep Bhattacharya of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) for the June 2 Howrah Lok Sabha by-poll, while the Congress decided to field Sanatan Mukherjee.

Bhattacharya’s name was finalised at a meeting of Left Front partners at the CPI-M headquarters Muzaffar Ahmed Bhavan, Front chairman Biman Bose told media persons here.

Meanwhile, the Congress named Mukherjee as its candidate for the seat, which has fallen vacant following the death of Trinamool MP Ambica Banerjee April 25.

“We had sent four names of probable candidates to Congress president Sonia Gandhi. She has chosen Sanatan Mukherjee as the party nominee,” All India Congress Committee in-charge for West Bengal Shakeel Ahmed told IANS over phone.

The Trinamool Congress has declared former international footballer Prasun Banerjee as its candidate for the by-poll, largely being seen as an acid test for West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee after the Saradha scam broke in the state last month.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.