IPL final: Mumbai Indians elect to bat against Super Kings

Kolkata, May 26 (IANS) Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final against Chennai Super Kings at the Eden Gardens here Sunday.

Both the teams are fielding an unchanged side from their last match.

Mumbai’s batting legend Sachin Tendulkar, nursing a wrist injury, missed out on playing his second IPL final.

This is the second time that the two teams are playing in the IPL final. In 2010, Super Kings had defeated Mumbai Indians to lift their first IPL crown.

The head-to-head record between the two teams this season is 2-1 in Mumbai’s favour.

Mumbai have a good record playing at Eden Gardens, winning five out of the six games, while Super Kings too are not far behind with four wins in five games.

Incidentally, Suresh Raina is playing his 99th IPL match. He has not missed a single game since his first for Chennai Super Kings at Mohali on April 19, 2008.


Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/keeper) Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, S. Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Aditya Tare, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik (Keeper), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Lasith Malinga, Pragyan Ojha, Rishi Dhawan.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.