India granted observer status in Arctic Council

Kiruna (Sweden), May 15 (IANS) India and China Wednesday got observer status in the Arctic Council along with four other countries.

China, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea and Singapore were granted the status at the eighth ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council convened in Kiruna, the northernmost city of Sweden.

About 230 people, including ministers, delegates from the eight Arctic states, scientists and observers took part in this event, which marks the end of the two-year Swedish chairmanship. Canada is the new chairman.

The Arctic Council, founded about 20 years ago, groups eight Arctic countries: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the US.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.