Congress, BJP share honours in Bangalore city

Bangalore, May 9 (IANS) In India’s tech hub, having the largest number of legislative assembly constituencies in Karnataka, an upbeat Congress and a beleaguered BJP shared honours Wednesday, winning 12 seats and 13 seats respectively.

Their arch rival Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) bagged the remaining three seats.

Though Bangalore Urban witnessed the lowest polling (57.38 per cent) across the state, the BJP failed to retain four seats, while the Congress and the JD-S wrested two seats each.

In the 2008 assembly poll, when the number of assembly segments in the Bruhat (greater) Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) civic limits increased to 28 from 16 following the delimitation exercise and increase in population, BJP won 17 seats and Congress 10, while JD-S in one.

Among the noted Congress winners are Roshan Baig from Shivaji Nagar, Dinesh Gundu Rao from Gandhinagar, Ramalingareddy from B.T.M. Layout, Krishna Byre Gowda from Byatarayanpura, Priya Krishna from Govindarajanagar, N.A. Haris from Shantinagar, M. Krishnappa from Vijayanagar, R.V. Devaraj from Chikpet and Muniratna from Rajarajeshwarinagar.

Among the noted BJP winners are: Ashoka R from Padmanabhanagar, Suresh Kumar from Rajaji Nagar, Ashwath Narayana C.N. from Malleshwaram, Arvind Limbavalli from Mahadevapura, B.N. Vijayakumar from Jayanagar, S. Raghu from C.V. Raman Nagar, M. Krishnappa from Bangalore South and S.R. Vishwanath from Yelahanka.

Among prominent winners from the JD-S are B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan from Chamrajpet and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy from Pulakeshinagar.

Prominent losers from the Congress are G.A. Bava, a former police officer, C.K. Abdul Rahaman Sharief, grand son of former Union minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief, B.K. Shivaram, brother of party’s general secretary B.K. Hariprasad and B.L. Shankar, a former lawmaker.

Noted losers from the BJP are P.C. Mohan, party’s Lok Sabha member from Bangalore Central and outgoing housing minister V. Somanna.

Another prominent loser was Karnataka Janata Party’s (KJP) woman candidate Shobha Karandlaje, who came third in the Rajaji Nagar segment. She lost to BJP’s Suresh Kumar and Congress nominee Manjula Naidu.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.