Campaigning for Karnataka assembly seat ends

Bangalore, May 26 (IANS) Campaigning ended Sunday for the May 28 polling for one Karnataka assembly seat, winning which is a matter of prestige for the Congress as it returned to power in the state early this month after nine years.

The battle for the Periyapatna seat in Mysore district, about 130 km from here, is mainly between Congress and Janata Dal-Secular.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who took over May 13, hails from Mysore district.

The Bharatiaya Janata Party, which was ousted from power in the May 5 assembly election, is also trying to bag the seat as that would help the party to get recognition as the opposition party in the assembly.

In the 225-member assembly that includes one nominated member, the Congress has won 121 seats and the BJP and JD-S 40 seats each.

The remaining are held by smaller parties and independents.

Voting took place for 223 seats May 5 but was put off in Periyapatna seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

The Congress has renominated K. Venkatesh who had won the seat in 2008. His rivals are K. Mahadev of JD-S and R.T. Satish of BJP. Five others are also in the fray.

Vote count would take place May 31.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.