Andhra sets up state security commission

Hyderabad, May 4 (IANS) Andhra Pradesh Saturday constituted six-member state security commission to promote efficient, transparent and accountable performance of police.

To be headed by the state home minister as its chairperson, the commission comprises chief secretary, principal secretary, home department, secretary, law department, director general of police and a retired judge of high court nominated by the state government.

The home department Saturday issued orders constituting the state security commission as directed by the Supreme Court in its Sep 22, 2006 orders.

The Supreme Court had last week directed chief secretaries of six states including Andhra Pradesh to file their compliance reports on its directions on police reforms and on constituting state security commissions.

The orders constituting the commission were issued a day after Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy approved the proposal at a high-level meeting.

The commission will advise the government on broad policy guidelines relating to effective policing, assist the government in identifying organizational goals, for performance of preventive tasks and service oriented functions of the police; recommend to government inputs for preparation of strategic and perspective plans for police; and any other matter as may be entrusted by the government.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.