Eight new judges take oath in Delhi High Court

New Delhi, April 17 (IANS) Eight new judges of the Delhi High Court were sworn-in Wednesday. Chief Justice D. Murugesan administered the oath of office to the eight as additional judges.

The ceremony was attended by judges of the high court and members of the Delhi Bar Association.

The new judges include five practicing lawyers from the bar, three trial court judges and the sitting registrar general.

Along with the Delhi government’s Standing Counsel (Civil) Najmi Waziri, four other practicing lawyers from the high court bar — V.K. Rao, Sanjeev Sachdeva, Jayant Nath and Vibhu Bakhru – took oath Wednesday.

District Judges from Tis Hazari and Dwarka courts – Sunita Gupta and Deepa Sharma – have also been elevated as high court judges along with the high court’s Registrar General V.P. Vaish.

With the appointment of these new judges, the strength of the bench has increased to 43, against the sanctioned number of 48.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.