Anti-Sikh riots case of Sajjan Kumar: Timeline of events

New Delhi, April 30 (IANS) Congress leader Sajjan Kumar was Tuesday acquitted by a Delhi court of all charges for allegedly conspiring and inciting a mob during the 1984 anti-Sikh riots.

The Congress leader has been facing trial for 29 years with Balwan Khokkar, Mahender Yadav, Girdhari Lal, Kishan Khokkar and Captain Bhagmal for allegedly conspiring and inciting a mob against the Sikh community.

Timeline of the events:

* November 1984: Sikhs were killed in the riots following the assassination of then prime minister Indira Gandhi Oct 31, 1984.

* Feb 8, 2005: Justice G.T. Nanavati Commission appointed to look into the 1984 anti-Sikh riots, submits its report.

* October 2005: A case is registered by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) on the recommendation of the Nanawati Commission.

* Feb 1, 2010: Court issues summons against Sajjan Kumar and seven other accused — Balwan Khokkar, Mahender Yadav, Girdhari Lal, Kishan Khokkar, Captain Bhagmal, Maha Singh and Santosh Rani. Six accused are alive and facing trial.

* Feb 8, 2010: Delhi High court appoints special public prosecutor R.S. Cheema to conduct the trial on a daily basis so that the proceedings can be concluded in six months.

* Feb 15, 2010: Sajjan Kumar’s anticipatory bail rejected by additional sessions judge.

* Feb 17, 2010: Non-bailable warrants issued against Sajjan Kumar.

* Feb 23, 2010: Sajjan Kumar untraceable.

* Feb 26, 2010: Anticipatory bail granted to Sajjan Kumar by the Delhi High Court.

* July 1, 2010: Prosecution produces 17 witnesses. Witnesses Jagdish Kaur, Jagsher Singh and Nirpreet Kaur identify Sajjan Kumar in court and depose against him.

* June 2011: Prosecution evidence ends.

* August 2011: Defence prosecution starts. They produce 17 witnesses, of whom six are officials from Delhi Police who depose in favour of Sajjan Kumar.

* April 2012: Prosecution concludes its arguments.

* January 2013: Defence concludes its arguments and a judgment is pronounced.

* April 30: District and sessions court acquits Sajjan Kumar, convicts former councillor Balwan Khokkar, former legislator Mahender Yadav, Kishan Khokkar, Girdhari Lal and Captain Bhagmal.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.