Chawla elected Chandigarh mayor

Chandigarh: Congress councillor Subhash Chawla was Tuesday elected mayor of the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation.

The Congress party also bagged the posts of the senior deputy mayor and deputy mayor with its candidates, Rana Kashmiri Devi and Satish Kainth, winning the respective elections.

Union Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal, who is the Chandigarh MP and ex-officio member of the municipal corporation, was present and cast his vote in the election.

Chawla, who is considered close to Bansal, got 24 votes in the 36-member corporation. His opponent, Arun Sood of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got 12 votes.

While the Congress has 13 councillors in the house, the BJP-Shiromani Akali Dal combine has 11 members. Nine members are nominated. Two members are of the Bahujan Samaj Party and one is an independent.

Chawla, who has been mayor of Chandigarh earlier also, takes over as mayor from Raj Bala Malik, whose tenure ended Monday (Dec 31).

The term of the Chandigarh mayor is for one year.


The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.