New Himachal Government Sworn In

Shimla: A ten member cabinet headed by Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh was sworn in on a bright Christmas Day, besides the historic Christ Church, on The Ridge in the late morning hours today.

Governor Urmila Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to Virbhadra Singh as chief minister, who assumed charge soon after. It was for the 6th time that Virbhadra Singh was sworn in as CM of the hill state.

Besides the chief minister, others who were sworn in included Vidya Stokes, Kaul Singh Thakur, GS Bali, Sujjan Singh Pathania, Thakur Singh Bharmori, Mukhesh Agnihotri, Sudhir Sharma, Prakash Chaudhary and Dhani Ram Shandil.

Besides the thousands of people who had gathered to witness the swearing in ceremony, those present on the occasion included, congress general secretary Birender Singh Chaudhary, AICC secretary Anees Ahmed and Himachal Lokhit Party president Maheshwar Singh.

After the celebrations, the newly sworn in ministers headed to take charge of office in the state secretariat for amidst all the congratulatory crowds, the cabinet decided to hold its first official cabinet meeting and conduct business, what otherwise was a national Christmas holiday.

Before the cabinet got down to hold its first meeting, the chief minister administered oath of office and secrecy to three members, which included Rajesh Dharmani, Vinay Kumar and Neeraj Bharti.

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by authors, news service providers on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Hill Post. Any views or opinions are not intended to malign any religion, ethnic group, club, organization, company, or individual. Hill Post makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site page.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.